Tales of a Big City Hospital Nurse

My life as a wife, mother, and nurse.

Monday, July 31, 2006

Actually, I got an A....

I wound up with an A in psych after all. My first A course grade since the first semester of nursing school 2 years ago. I can't believe it has been 2 years now that I've been doing this. Heading into the homestretch, now.

I went this weekend for my physical for my new PCT job. The physical part took all of 10 minutes, the waiting took 2 hours. I got a reaction on my PPD, for the very first time. That was kind of freaky. However, I have been cleared to work.

Also this morning I had the fit-test for the N-95 respirator. That was quite humorous. We put on the masks, which look like a duck beak. Then they stick some space helmet over our heads, which they mist some sort of aerosol into to see if we taste it. See the helmets? Ours were much worse, but you get the idea:
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Then we have to move all around while doing this. The last maneuver involved bending at the waist repeatedly, which made us look like this guy:

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Now, I have a tendency to giggle....A LOT! Needless to say, I was in near hysterics by the end of this. I asked the HR lady if they sell videos of that test to AFV. I want my $10,000, if so.

I have spent the weekend painting my kithcen. It is looking quite cute. This weekend will be the living room, as well as shopping for back to school for the boy-child. And friendship day with friend.

W. :)

Wednesday, July 26, 2006

Alert & orientating.....

I go for my physical & drug test this Saturday. I start orientation on August 7 & 8. Which I get paid for. Then I am off to the floor. Eeeks.

On the good side. I get to go to the uniform store. :) Yay for new scrubs! Yay for new shoes! Yay for Las Vegas in the fall!

Boo for even less time. :-P

W. :)

Monday, July 24, 2006

It's over.....

Psych is finished at last. My final weighed 70% of my grade, because I missed a test. I came out with a B.

Now for a month off of school, and a few days off of work. Looking forward to this time. Reading "The DaVinci Code," working on a quilt for a Christmas present, hanging out with friends, doing some mom/son activities with D.

Today the hospital called for the tech position. I am not going to take it. I figure at the speed they move, I would be training on the floor at the very time I start advanced med-surg. I had hoped to be working for a few weeks by that time. I hope this decision does not come back to bite me in the butt.

Now that we can see the end of this journey on the horizon, my friends and I are starting to plan what we are going to do after graduation. I am planning on having baseball jerseys made up for my closest friends that say Nursing 2007, and our nicknames on the back. Kim & I are going to try to plan out a big trip to Disney World, chartering a bus and working a group rate for Disney.

I can't think of anything I would want as a graduation gift. All I can think of is blackout drapes, a PDA with some software, a gift certificate to a uniform store, practical things.

Some people are getting a house (Kim), a new car (lots of people), and really extravagant trips. I think, for me, those would be things I would want to do for myself, since I would finally be able to do so.

I think of what I want to do for myself after I graduate....after all I have put 6 years into this journey (paying my own way, taking as little as one class per semester). I want a bicycle of the spectacular variety. I want new furniture for my bedroom, since it will be my new favorite room. I want to treat myself to a wonderful trip somewhere, including fabulous shopping, spa treatments, etc. I want to put my son into a good school. I want to do his room to reflect his tastes. I want to buy my husband flying lessons so he can finally finish his pilots license, and maybe have something that brings him joy.

February. Seems like such a long time....seems like tomorrow.

W. :)

Thursday, July 20, 2006

Not taking the tech job....

I have decided to withdraw my application for the PCT position for several reasons.

1. The HR department has never returned a call I have made to them regarding the physical and drug test I am supposed to do. They have a tendency to call and expect me to just show up. However, having had to take every Thursday off this whole summer, my time off is shot.

2. I really don't think I will have time to start a new job in my last semester of school, and the reason I wanted to do it was to gain practical experience. I think that now that we will be on the med-surg floor again, I will get that experience. I plan to go into these clinical gung-ho.

3. I really want to study as much as possible this coming semester. With a full time job, a family and 3 days of school, I just don't think taking on more work is a good idea at this time. I'd like to finish this experience with a bang.

So, those are my reasons.

W. :)

Three up, three down.....

Today we took the pharmacology for psych test, the critical thinking exam, and had to write a care plan. I passed them all.

The pharm test was very hard. 25% of the class failed it. That is a very high percentage, in my opinion. The critical thinking was clearly risk for suicide. Thank goodness, I was hoping for obvious.

Almost blew the careplan, because we needed to include a secondary diagnosis, and I turned it in when I remembered I forgot to write it down. Fortunately, I had not left the room yet, and was able to add it in.

Now I am at the University to study for my final on Monday. What I really want to do is sleep.

W. :)

Sunday, July 16, 2006

First you set 'em up, then I shoot 'em down....

Have I ever mentioned that I am a crack shot with a gun? An M-16, no less.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

We spent Sunday morning at the gun range. We brought Danielle, who had never been shooting before. It was fun. I usually like to shoot the .22 long rifle, because it doesn't kick much and I can get in the bullseye every time without a scope. However, after my first shot the thing started to jam. So I had to give it up. I was ready to start pouting, because I really don't like the big loud guns like the 30/06 and the M-16. But I wasn't going to just stand around and let Willie and Danielle have all the fun. So I caved.

And I rock with the big guns, too! Danielle had a lot of fun, too.

Saturday, I treated myself to an hour long massage. It was such a deal ($39.00 for the hour), and I have been such a bundle of nerves that I decided that it was worth my allowance money. The rest of my allowance got spent on a vaccum cleaner. How domestic of me.

A nice weekend. Now to buckle down and get ready for finals. Thursday we have our critical thinking, care plan & pharm tests. Then next Monday is our final exam in class. On that note, it is time to go home and study.

W. :)

Friday, July 14, 2006

The part where I complain about being a poor struggling nursing student....

Or a very good reason to study as hard as I can......

I can't wait to finish school. I can't wait to get a job that pays well. I am tired of always struggling.

I stood in my kitchen last night crying, because I want to go to Vegas so badly, and I can't afford it. The friends I want to go with are leaving in 3 weeks. Instead, I got to pay another semester's tuition, and for books.

I know that my education is of the utmost importance at this time. I have 1 semester and 6 weeks of leadership to go, and I will be done. I will have that job I have wanted and worked for so long. Then I will be able to go to Vegas, and Canada, and all those other places I want to visit. I wonder if there is a travel nurse position in Vegas. Ooooh, too dangerous to think about.

My psychiatric rotation is coming to an end. I have hated every second of it. I know for sure that it takes a special kind of nurse to do that for a living. I am just not that special.

Next up.....advanced med-surg. I am looking forward to it, and terrified at the same time. We have not even done a vital sign or bp in nearly a year, and now we will be jumping into IVs, NG's and all sorts of things. God help me get through this one.

W. :)

Tuesday, July 11, 2006

Once and forever a Rock Chick....

The concert, last night, kicked A$$!!!!!

Journey had another lead singer, because, Steve Augieri has a throat infection. So a guy named Jeff Scott Soto is filling in for the tour. He did a really good job. The band sounded great. The drummer, Dean Castronovo, did the lead vocals on the ballads, and also performed wonderfully. They did all the hits, a couple of songs no one knew, and were done in an hour and a half.

Then after the breakdown and set up of the equipment Def Leppard took the stage. They were awesome!! They sang everything from Rock of Ages to some cover songs from their latest album and finished it all off with Pour Some Sugar on Me.

It was an outdoor show, and there was supposed to be 60% chance of rain/thunderstorms. And while the thunderheads did make an appearance, no rain fell. We had a great seats on the grass, and had a good view of the stage with a screen right over us.

This was Danielle's very first real live rock concert. She had a ball. I was crazy, as I always am at concerts. We got back to Miami at 1:00 am. Needless to say, I am a zombie this morning. But a happy one.

W. :)

Friday, July 7, 2006

The best compliment I ever got...

"You're a natural pitcher." This coming from one of if not the very best fastpitch softball pitchers in NCAA DII history.

At the cookout, Danielle tried to show me how to juggle. Not much luck there. I either forget to throw one of the balls up, or I get it going, get all excited and totally mess up. However, I shall persevere. However, I took to the windmill pitch like a duck to water. :)

We had an awesome 4th of July. The cookout was good. We had a lot of fun. Nicest holiday I can remember for a long time. Danielle took some pictures, that if she emails me, I will share.

Tonight is Pirates of the Caribbean 2. Gotta love Johnny Depp channeling Keith Richards.

Have a nice weekend.

W. :)