Last night, I did my first shift as a 1:1 (or in my case 2:1) sitter. I had two women soley under my care.
Busy, busy, busy. I, silly girl, brought my book with me thinking, perhaps that I might be able to study. HAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHA! There was very little actual sitting while sitting, if you know what I mean.
The first patient kept trying to get out of bed, and I kept keeping her in it. And everytime she'd move her arm, her IV would beep. So, I'd reposition her arm, and reset the pump about a million times.
The second patient was very quiet, at first. She slept, went for a test, and slept some more. Then as soon as the first patient fell asleep, she began having diarreah every 20 minutes. I'd assist her to the commode, and then twice had to change her sheets, because she was so sleepy that she couldn't move quick enough, and insisted on not using a bedpan. I felt for her, really.
However, I took good care of my ladies. They were very happy with me, as were their families. I was told by both sets of families that they were very happy with my care of their family members, and that they think I will make a great nurse, someday. To me that is one of the best compliments I've ever received. Because if family thinks you treat them well....that says a lot to me.
Speaking of someday, guess what I get to do in two weeks?!?!!? Register for my last semester of nursing school. LAST SEMESTER!!!!!!!
Now, let's talk about what burning the candle at every end can do for you.....
You dye your hair, and fall asleep with the dye in it. For an hour and a half. Yes, that happened to me. Yes, I still have hair. After clinicals on Saturday (where it was discovered that I know nothing, apparently), the husband child and I went out for a family evening. (I've missed that.) Got home at close to 10. After the men folk went to sleep, I said let me dye my hair now. Midnight I start the process. I was to rinse my hair out at 1:15 AM. I woke up at 2:46 AM. I was going to just go to bed when I happened to reach up and touch my head. OH MY GOD!!! It was DRY!!! And CRUSTY!!!!! Crap, crap, crap. Into the bathtub STAT! Maybe my grey streak won't make a reappearance for a while.
I am so glad that our exams won't be oral rapid-fire exams. Because our clinical instructor, Ms. Garner, quizzes us each week on what we have covered in class. I know I will know the answer if I see it on a test, but to pull it out of my brain on the spot, I feel so stupid.
Ms. Garner asked us about the parathyroid, and what does it regulate. Know I know I remember learning about the how it effects bone growth and destruction in A&P. And that was the answer that she was looking for, however when she asked what would you keep at the bedside in a patient being treated for parathyroid disorders, and I answered a glass of milk, she gave me a smack with her papers. (Have I mentioned that she beats us regularly?) I really like her teaching style though. I really wish that she was one of our lecture instructors. Alas, she only works with the full time track.
Not much else going on in my world. Not working this weekend. Going to see Foreigner and Styx in concert instead. Clinicals will be with the human patient simulator at school. 3 hours, no uniforms, no preassignment, and we get to show up at noon! Yeah, baby!
Need to make a study schedule for myself for this semester. I need to quit going out to lunch, and study/lunch instead like I used to. I need to devote one night a week to the library. I am on the dean's list and plan to stay there. Darn it!
Test next Monday.
W. :)