Tales of a Big City Hospital Nurse

My life as a wife, mother, and nurse.

Saturday, June 23, 2007

I'm a BAAAADDDDD blogger....

I've been so busy. You'd think working 3 days a week would give me all sorts of time free. Hah!

About a month ago, I switched over to nights. Which I like. I like the not so crazy atmosphere, and the night shift nurses are pretty cool. However, I feel that for every shift I work, I lose two days. What with all the sleeping, and simply the fact that I go into work on one day, and come out the next. Then the sleeping, again.

Working with the kids is great. I enjoy it. It is a bit of a challenge trying to figure out the babies. And all the stuff I am supposed to remember. The parents can really be challenging. But overall, I don't regret my decision to go peds.

Over the past two days I got my PALS certification, which a nice thing to have. Doing the certification was a bit crazy, because I am the newest nurse there, and I got made team leader more than anyone. (Hello!?!?! I don't know anything!)

Today is my last day of orientation. I am hoping to get a full load of 5 patients. And now that I have my own pyxsis access, and access to the computers, I hope to run my team my way, since I won't have to wait for my preceptor for everything. Nice.

Then tomorrow is sink or swim day. I am terrified. But I think I should be ok. I am just really worried, since my preceptor is a charge nurse, she kept getting put in charge or we would get acute kids, so I have not had the chance to work a full team very well. I haven't had a chance to see what I can really do.

I miss my co-workers from VEU. I go by and visit from time to time. I talk to my BFF every day, and see her a few times a week. (a sharp decrease) And my best school friend every few days. So I have some support from friends, because I am having a bit of culture shock. I am at least 10 years older than all the nurses I work with. So, I feel quite lonely at work sometimes.

I have developed a huge love of Starbucks. Not the coffee, but they have really good sandwiches. And the vanilla bean frappucino. YUMMMM!!!!

I am going to register for class on Monday to start working toward my BSN. Because, yes, I am a sucker for punishment. But it will be nice to take classes that have nothing to do with nursing for a while. I have a lot of basic requirements to fill in before I will be ready for the nursing programs.

So, that's what's going on. Still alive. Still kicking. Just adjusting, still.


W. :o)