I am now registered for my final semester of nursing school. My graduation date is April 28, 2007 at 2:30 pm. My last class date is February 19, 2007. My pinning ceremony will be on April 25, 2007.
My last semester will be class Monday night from 6-9:00 PM, and 2 days of clinicals (Saturday and Sunday 0700-1800). Plus working full time at VEU.
This past clinical weekend was strange and awesome. Thursday, I went to the hospital and got all my patient information. (Fell off a roof at work in 11/05, and broke his tibia. Got an external fixator put on, and never went back for follow-up. Developed a huge infection and the fracture never healed.) Made a beautiful careplan, which after completing at midnight on Friday, left sitting on my desk.
I seriously considered not coming in or arriving late. Called my instructor, and she said "Think critically.... What should you do?" I went in. After getting report, and assessing my patient, we had preconference. As the teacher was going around the students, she got to me, and said, "We won't ask you, since you forgot your information." I said, "Ask away. I can tell you everything you need to know. Meds, PMH, procedures, and what I am planning on doing today." So I told them everthing, and the teacher was impressed.
I gave my very second injection ever (SQ Lovenox), and a dry dressing change.
As Kim and I were charting in the report room, the teacher walks in and says, "I need you and you to come with me before I have a stroke." She takes us into a patient's room and tells us to get him cleaned up and comfortable. The patient was lying on the edge of the bed, against the bed rails, clearly uncomforable, and with a HR of 145. He had a R heel fracture, and a fractured L femur with external fixation. His linens were filthy with drainage from the surgery he had the day prior. We told him we were going to make him more comfortable, and get him cleaned up, and he kept saying no, no he's fine. We said that he looked uncomfortable. He grimaced at that, and said he was.
I fixed his NC, and Kim and I moved him into the center of the bed. We changed his top sheets, and he pillowcases. We cleaned him up the best we could, without making him uncomfortable. I taught him how to use his PCA, and we told him to take some deep breaths, because he was breathing too fast and his 02Sat was at 93%. We helped him to get comfortable, and then Kim and I left.
The student assigned to him, kept coming to me every time there was any sort of beep in his room. Everytime he moved his arm, his IV pump would beep. I told her how to fix it. His pulse oximeter was not working, I fixed it for her. Every time she'd go in his room, the machine's alarm would go off. Because, just her being in the room would aggitate him, and his HR would go over 100.
The instructor told the student to thank us for saving her butt. I am not sure how I felt about that. I mean, it was nice that even though, I came without my paper, I was still prepared to take care of my own patient, and that the instructor thought well enough of me and Kim that she has us helping the students who are struggling.
However, I don't know if having us going in and rescuing the students is doing them a disservice. As the instructor is sending the students out of the room (and lecturing them in the hall), they are not learning from Kim and I. So, I am looking at it from the perspective of the patient. We are rescuing the patient. The nurse is expecting their patient to be taken care of, and therefore is interacting with the patient very limitedly while they are in our care. The patient had received 3 hours of sub-par care under that student. We came in, made him clean, comfortable, and lessened his anxiety. So, while our fellow student may not have benefitted from our assistance, the patient did, and that is what matters most.
Called out last night from the hospital. I, silly me, am turning into the Jamaican skit from the old "In Living Color" shows. I have taken on yet another job. Now I do scorekeeping at the VEU volleyball games. Which I did on Friday and Saturday night. Then, Sunday after doing groceries at 2300 on Saturday night, and doing 5 loads of laundry on Sunday morning, I just couldn't bear to go to work and leave my family again. I had not seen them in forever. So I called out, and went to the movies and dinner with the fam. I've missed them so much.
We decided that the best course of action for me to continue on with this would be to go directly to work after clinicals on Saturday. Have one hellacious day, and have Sunday off. Either way, I am going to have to quit my second job come next semester. No matter what I do there is just not enough days in the week. Perhaps I would be able to take a leave of absence for 6 weeks, being a per diem PCT. I just can't leave VEU at the moment, since my insurance comes from here.
Tonight, I get my first test grade. I know I deserve whatever I get. I studied like crap, missed the first class, and just generally overextended myself. This time, I have preread the powerpoints, have some personal knowledge of cholecystitis and pancreatitis, and overviewed the material.
I feel much more prepared going into class tonight.
W. :)