Tales of a Big City Hospital Nurse

My life as a wife, mother, and nurse.

Monday, October 9, 2006

What a weekend!

I have been running forever, or so it feels.

Thursday, I went to the hospital to get my preassignment for this weekend. Thank God I did, too. This time the instructor picked our patient's for us. I got a patient that was hit by a car a month ago, and was just transferred to the ortho floor last Wednesday. She had 4 fractures. (Left pelvis, left acetabulum, right open tib-fib) Plus she lost about half her teeth, had had internal bleeding from the fractures, and needless to say, excruciating pain. My nurse that day was awesome. She left me in total care of the patient, let me hang her IV's, push her morphine, and do her dressing changes. I was busy from the moment we got there, and I totally missed post conference. I feel like a nurse more and more each time we have a clinical. My nurse had only 4 patients, most of with many extensive injuries.

The instructor basically left us on our own this week. She was watching over the student I wrote about last week, and wouldn't leave her alone for a moment, for various reasons. None of them good.

She also informed us that we will be caring for 5 patients on our own next semester. Not right off the bat, but definitely by the end. (Note that the semester only lasts 5 weeks.)

Saturday afternoon, right after clinicals, I raced off to the softball game. VEU (my team) killed my school's team. They had something like 27 hits, and the final score was like 14-3. Still it was so much fun to spend the afternoon out at the field, in the sunshine, cheering my team on. Even if I did have to do it in my whites. I can't wait for February.

Saturday evening, we went to dinner, and the bookstore. I fell asleep in one of the big comfy chairs at B&N surrounded by Las Vegas travel books. (Yes, I will blather on about this trip until December. Why do you ask?) Mind you, I had been up since 5:00 am, had about 4 hours sleep the night before,put in 7 hours at the hospital, spent 4 hours at the ballpark, and was still wearing my whites at 9:30 PM. When I got home, I brushed my teeth, crawled into bed, and became immediately comatose.

Sunday, did some morning chores, fought with the husbeast about when I would be able to work at the hospital. Figured out that I am going to have to miss clinicals this weekend, due to I have run out of babysitters, and husbeast has to work on Saturday.
Went to work at the hospital, and ended up sitting again. I really prefer the floor work, believe it or not. Time drags on forever when all you do is sit in the room. I did get to watch Zoolander and The Mind of Mencia, did get to study for a bit, did end the evening with 2 clean, sleeping patients. (I had heard that one of the patients have the PCT the night before a really difficult time.)

Now, here it is....Monday again. The bright spot on the horizon is knowing I will have Saturday off to perform a good thorough house cleaning. Get my laundry and groceries done on Saturday, so I can relax with my family on Sunday before going to work.

W. :)

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home