Tales of a Big City Hospital Nurse

My life as a wife, mother, and nurse.

Monday, February 12, 2007

The last time I put on that horrible school uniform...

Well, I wound up missing one clinical weekend, because I was SOOOOOOO sick. And I wish I hadn't missed it, but really, I was in no condition to be around patients.

This Saturday was my very last clinical day. I bought lots of goodies and a card and brought them to my floor. Unfortunately, none of the nurses I had had the pleasure to work with were on that day. :o( However, the nurses that were there were happy to have treats.

My two patients that I had worked with were still there, so that was a bit reassuring. I know that as of Saturday they were both alive. I gave an in-service about the 8 rights of medication. Left posters to post in the nurses station/breakroom. And my clinical was done by 9:00 AM. Yippee!!!!!

Went and bought yet another NCLEX book, since I have completed two, and our instructor has told us we need to have 6000 practice questions under us before sitting for the NCLEX. I hope to take mine before the end of March.

Then I woke up Best Friend, and we spent the day together. She took me to Thai food for lunch to celebrate, we walked the mall, and she spent too much money on watches. Then we went back to her place and watched "Priscilla, Queen of the Desert." (Nothing like seeing Agent Smith in full drag!!)

Originially, my classmates and I had planned to have a bonfire and burn the uniform tops (however, we are sure they would just melt with the high polyester content they have), but we decided to donate them back to the school through the NSA for students who can't afford to shell out the $56.00 that they cost.

Tonight we have our group presentation (yuck), and we are doing a puppet show about time management and prioritization. It is sure to be lame. Then Wednesday is my exit exam, and I am DONE WITH NURSING SCHOOL!!!!!! I will be Wendy, G.N.!

Best friend and I are going to celebrate next Monday. This weekend is all softball, all the time, Friday through Sunday! So, she will be busy, as she is the softball coach, and I will be there because I love my team.

YAY!!!!!!!!!

W. :)

2 Comments:

Anonymous Anonymous said...

I am soooo stinkin' jealous right now!

Ah, wendy, you give me hope, girl!!! Congrats for making it through. You need to have a big-ass party for yourself!!!!!

Prisca

6:23 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Oooooh! You're almost done!

Let me just say...life as a G.N. is WAY better than life as a S.N.!

YAY!

Sean

6:01 AM  

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home