Nine days later.....
I passed my first pharmacology test. Thank the Heavens!!!! I don't know my grade, but I think I missed maybe 4 or 5. Which still puts me at a B.
We had a hurricane (sort of), again. And this one, has yet again turned into a monster. (I am praying for you, Texas.)
My one and only program that I watch has come to its finale, and a new lead singer for INXS has been chosen. Mr. JD Fortune.

Awefully cute. Way cocky. Canadian. And definitely the best fit, vocally and artistically, with the band.
In clinicals, I passed a rite of passage this past weekend. I had my very first bedpan. How I made it through two clinical rotations without encountering one, is beyond me. I was so freaked, when the nurse told me the patient was ready, I go bouncing over to the patient to help her, and realize.....
I'm not wearing any gloves.
and
I don't have any supplies to clean her up.
So I grab a couple of washcloths (commence laughter now) snap on my gloves and realize.....
a couple of wash cloths isn't going to be much help.
I forgot to get a linen bag to put the soiled cloths into.
and
The patient needed to go some more.
So the bedpan goes back under her. And I fetch all the stuff I will need.
Bag. check.
10 cloths. check.
warm water. check.
diaper. check.
GLOVES! check.
In the meantime, the nurse keeps asking me if I am ok. Yeah, and could you not ask me that, because it really doesn't help.
Our instructor has been trying something new the past couple weeks. I am not sure I like it. She is pairing us up to work on one patient. One person is in charge of looking up meds, labs, tests, etc. And the other person performs patient care, and administer the meds.
I may have control issues or something, but I am not in favor of giving meds that I have not personally verified the orders for, and looked up in the drug book. Don't like it at all. We all have our own working styles. I like all my med orders on one sheet so I can easily verify it, check them off, and list what I am giving it for.
My partner this past week gave me 9 index cards with side effects, and no information what the med was for. How am I supposed to do patient teaching with no information what I am giving the med for? I went back and verified everything myself, and made my partner mad. But you know what? In the end, the person who is responsbile for what goes into the patient is me. I handed her the pill cup and made sure she swallowed it. I signed the MAR.
I am going to try this one more week. If it doesn't go better, I am going to do things like I did before. All on my own.
Well that was a long post.
Happy Friday!!
W. :)
My life as a wife, mother, and nurse.

0 Comments:
Post a Comment
Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]
<< Home