This is Jeopardy!!!!
Today I taught lesson one of my semi-annual sex class. Today was pregnancy and childbirth. In Jeopardy format. I usually just lecture, but today I wanted to switch things around. And the game got quite heated. However, it would have been much nicer if they had acutally read the material.
Monday is part 2. Double Jeopardy. Contraception and STD's.
I actually really enjoy teaching this class. The first time I taught it a year ago, it was just 3 girls. And I was a nervous wreck. The second time, it was 5 baseball players, and that was a hoot. They were just absolutely mystified with pregnancy and childbirth. But they were eager to learn and understand.
This time, it is a mix. 2 guys, and 6 girls. Several of them are student athletes. One of the girls is a child tennis prodigy from Russia. Poor girl is only 16 years old, speaks only a little English, and there she was in class with her little English to Russian pocket translator, trying to figure out what 'lightening' means.
This evening I went to our new floor at the hospital for clinicals and got my patient info. Now we are on a neuro floor. At the time of admission, the patient had lots of stuff to work with. NG tube, Miami J collar (developed by 2 nurses at Jackson Memorial Hospital. Would have liked to have seen their royalty checks.), ventilated, paralyzed. Now, she is on her way out, but has a sacral ulcer that needs a wet-dry dressing. That's it, and one sq injection. Everthing else with this patient will be PCT work. Bathe, assist with toileting, set up food tray. I am so disappointed. I know that if I were actually a nurse, I would love a patient like this. Not much to do. However, as a student and a PCT, it is just more of the same. Sigh.
I really need to work with kids. I am fascinated with kids and babies. Adults...not so much. Sometimes, I feel terrible saying that. I mean, everyone needs care. I just prefer kids/babies. Ah, who am I kidding? It really is all about the babies, for me.
On my way to the hospital, I dropped off my best friend at the airport. She is flying home to Canada for the weekend. How jealous am I? Very, very. We were talking about my coming up there in the summer, but thanks. I already have hot weather here. So we're thinking maybe over the winter we may go up. I am so psyched. I so need to get my passport renewed (thanks Homeland Security). Actual weather. I don't know what I'd do with myself.
Oh, well. I should quit rambling, and get to looking up the other 13 PO meds my patient is taking. Sigh. I am suffering from severe senioritis. I am chomping at the bit to be done with school already. I looked at my transcript, and I declared my major in 2001. 6 years to complete this degree. An ASN, at that. Do you think I am ready to be done with school? There I go again.
Peace out.
W. :)
My life as a wife, mother, and nurse.

1 Comments:
I think you're totally ready to be done with school. I'm so envious and can't wait to be doing some real nursing. Have you decided where you're going to work after graduation?
Post a Comment
Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]
<< Home